Year in review: a look back at our favorite books.

Position:Bibliography

Each issue of Bookmarks features our Selections--staff favorites from among the books reviewed. Below is a round-up of our Selections from earlier in 2006.

LITERARY

CELLOPHANE By Marie Arana

A plague of truth descends in the rain forest. (Sept/Oct 2006)

Ft. Worth Star Telegram **** 1/2

"... so rich in themes, symbolism, conflict, and character ... [and] a brilliant piece of storytelling."

ARTHUR & GEORGE By Julian Barnes

A novel based on the 1906 Edalji case, featuring Arthur Conan Doyle. (Mar/Apr 2006)

NY Times Book Review **** 1/2

"[A] deeply English novel, in the grand manner."

COMPANY By Max Barry

A dark satire on office politics. (May/June 2006)

Entertainment Weekly ****

"Rarely has a novelist borrowed from so many sources yet come up with something so utterly original."

HERE IS WHERE WE MEET By John Berger

A collection of memoir-like vignettes, with the narrator conversing with the dead. (Jan/Feb 2006)

Seattle Times ****

"... a fusion of all the forms he has mastered: the travel essay, the art essay, the novel, and the memoir."

THE BRIEF HISTORY OF THE DEAD By Kevin Brockmeier

Souls of the dead are kept alive by the memories of those still living. (May/June 2006)

Esquire ****

"An allegory of our connection to those we have lost ..."

THE THIN PLACE By Kathryn Davis

A girl brings a dead neighbor back to life; how do those around her react? (May/June 2006)

Chicago Sun-Times **** 1/2

"There is not a word out of the place in the entire novel, never a lyrical misstep or a poor characterization."

BECOMING STRANGERS By Louise Dean

When two couples cross paths at a Caribbean resort, the passions, comforts, and guilt surface. (May/June 2006)

Guardian (London) **** 1/2

"I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. In the end, I was so uplifted, I did both."

THE INHERITANCE OF LOSS By Kiran Desai

Turmoil in the Himalayas. (Mar/Apr 2006)

Chicago Tribune **** 1/2

"I predict you'll read it ... with your heart in your chest, inside the narrative, and the narrative inside you."

THE WHISTLING SEASON By Ivan Doig

In 1909 Montana, a widower and his three sons hire a housekeeper. (Sept/Oct 2006)

Minneapolis Star Tribune **** 1/2

"I'm here to report on my love affair with this magical novel."

IN THE COMPANY OF THE COURTESAN By Sarah Dunant

When Rome is sacked in the 16th century, a courtesan flees to Venice. (May/June 2006)

Seattle Times ****

"[A] perfect blend of literary novel and popular fiction."

THE LIGHTNING KEEPER By Starling Lawrence

New York in the teens: sparking love, electricity, and a modern era. (July/Aug 2006)

Los Angeles Times ****

"... an old-fashioned narrative that addresses modern questions of ethnicity and belonging."

THE WESTERN LIMIT OF THE WORLD By David Masiel

A tanker and its crew try to broker a black-market deal. (Mar/Apr 2006)

San Diego Union-Tribune ****

"[A] sea adventure for the 21st century that can stand next to any work of any such novel from the 19th or 20th."

A LITTLE LOVE STORYBy Roland Merullo

A love story that doesn't fall apart. (Jan/Feb 2006)

NY Times Book Review ****

"To say Merullo's latest novel is true to its title is to diminish the impact of this thoughtful, restrained (yet very sexy) book."

THE...

To continue reading

FREE SIGN UP