Paralegal Division

JurisdictionUtah,United States
CitationVol. 33 No. 4 Pg. 60
Publication year2020
Paralegal Division
Vol. 33 No. 4 Pg. 60
Utah Bar Journal
August, 2020

July, 2020

2020 Paralegal of the Year: Congratulations Amber Alleman!

By Greg Wayment

On Thursday May 21, 2020, the Paralegal Division (the Division) of the Utah State Bar and the Utah Paralegal Association held the Annual Paralegal Day celebration online with a live video broadcast. The broadcast included a welcome from Sarah Baldwin, chair of the Paralegal Division, remarks from the 2020 Paralegal of the Year, and Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. as the keynote speaker who talked about the ethics of politics and service.

The Division would like to heartily thank all those who organized and hosted this event. We’d especially like to thank Lydia Kane, the CLE Events Manager at the Bar, for her support. I also want to express my thanks to all of the attorneys who took the time this year to nominate a paralegal. It truly was an occasion in which I wish there was a better way to recognize all paralegals who were nominated.

Paralegal Day is an opportunity to recognize a paralegal with the Distinguished Paralegal of the Year Award. The purpose of this award is to honor a Utah paralegal who, over a long and distinguished career, has by their ethical and personal conduct, commitment and activities, rendered extraordinary contributions and service to the paralegal profession.

This year we had a tremendous response to the request for nominations. Typically the Paralegal Division will get four or five nominations, with maybe a couple of them being complete. This year, the Bar sent out an email to all the attorneys and we received fifty to sixty requests for nominations forms. Of those requests, we ended up with twenty-three complete nominations. I personally felt like every single one of them was deserving, but seven or eight of them were very strong candidates, and I worried that our selection committee would have a hard time paring it down.

The hard-working individuals on the 2020 selection committee included Judge Shaughnessy, Christopher Von Maack, Gabriel White, Tonya Wright, and Patty Allred. By a majority of votes, they selected a recipient, and we are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2020 Distinguished Paralegal of the Year Award is Amber Alleman.

Amber obtained her paralegal degree in 1995 from Salt Lake Community College. She has worked as a paralegal in family law at several prominent law firms including Prince Yeates, Kruse Landa & Maycock, and Clyde Snow. She...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT