United States International Trade Commission



500 E Street SW., Washington, DC 20436

Phone, 202-205-2000. Internet, www.usitc.gov.

Chairman Stephen Koplan

Vice Chairman Deanna Tanner Okun

Commissioners Jennifer A. Hillman, Charlotte R. Lane, Marcia E. Miller, Daniel R. Pearson

Administrative Law Judges Robert L. Barton, Charles E. Bullock, Sidney Harris, Paul J. Luckern

Director, Office of Administration/Chief Stephen McLaughlin

Information Officer

Deputy Chief Information Officer Pamela C. Dyson

Director, Office of Economics Robert B. Koopman

Director, Office of External Relations Lyn M. Schlitt

Congressional Relations Officer Nancy M. Carman

Public Affairs Officer Margaret M. O'Laughlin

Trade Remedy Assistance Program John J. Greer


Director, Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Jacqueline A. Waters

Director, Office of Industries Karen Laney-Cummings

Division Chief, Agriculture and Cathy L. Jabara

Forest Products

Division Chief, Minerals, Metals, Larry L. Brookhart

Machinery, and Miscellaneous Manufactures

Division Chief, Energy, Chemicals, Dennis Rapkins

and Textiles

Division Chief, Electronics and Michael Anderson


Division Chief, Services and Richard W. Brown


Director, Office of Investigations Robert G. Carpenter

Director, Office of Operations Robert Rogowsky

Director, Office of Tariff Affairs and Trade David Beck, Acting


Director, Office of Unfair Import Investigations Lynn Levine

General Counsel James M. Lyons

Inspector General Kenneth F. Clarke

Secretary Marilyn R. Abbott


The United States International Trade Commission furnishes studies, reports, and recommendations involving international trade and tariffs to the President, the U.S.

Trade Representative, and congressional committees. The Commission also conducts a variety of investigations pertaining to international trade relief.

The United States International Trade Commission is an independent agency created by act of September 8, 1916 (39 Stat. 795), and originally named the United States Tariff Commission. The name was changed to the United States International Trade Commission by section

171 of the Trade Act of 1974 (19 U.S.C. 2231).

Six Commissioners are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate for 9-year terms, unless appointed to fill an unexpired term. The Chairman and Vice Chairman are designated by the President for 2-year terms, and succeeding Chairmen may not be of the same political party. The Chairman generally is responsible for the administration of the Commission. Not more than three Commissioners may be members of the same political party (19 U.S.C. 1330).


The Commission performs a number of functions pursuant to the statutes referred to above. Under the Tariff Act of 1930, the Commission is given broad powers of investigation relating to the customslaws of the United States and foreign countries; the volume of importation in comparison with domestic production...

To continue reading