Who are they? What do they do? How do i get there?

Author:Pantanges, Dick
Position:President's Message - Organization overview

The NEHA Board of Directors That's who they are. The NEHA board of directors (the "board") is composed of 16 members. There are five national officers (the "officers"), ten regional vice presidents (the "RVPs"), and the executive director, who is a nonvoting member of the board. The board is the governing body of NEHA.


The Executive Director

The board appoints the executive director, who is responsible for implementing and carrying out the policies of the board. Executive Director Nelson Fabian is responsible for hiring the staff necessary to carry out the functions of NEHA. The board annually evaluates the executive director and NEHA.

The Regional Vice Presidents

Ten RVPs represent nine geographical areas, and one RVP represents both members outside the United States and members of organizations that cross geographical boundaries. RVPs are elected for a three-year term, with staggered terms, so that approximately one-third of the positions are up for election or reelection each year.

Your RVP is your closest point of contact with the NEHA board.

The current RVPs can be found listed in the "Special Listing" section of the Journal of Environmental Health. They and their photos can also be found on the NEHA Web site, www.NEHA.org, by clicking on the "About" tab on the bar at the top of the page, then clicking on the "Regional Vice Presidents" tab at the left margin.

The regions are as follows:

  1. Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. Dave Riggs of Washington is the current RVP, and his term expires in 2011.

  2. Arizona, California, Hawai'i, and Nevada. Alicia Enriquez of California is the current RVP, and her term expires in 2009. I served as the RVP for this region for 14 years prior to becoming second vice president.

  3. Colorado, Montana, Utah, and Wyoming. Roy Kroeger of Wyoming is the current RVP, and his term expires in 2009.

  4. Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Bette Packer of Minnesota is the current RVP, and her term expires in 2010.

  5. Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Sandra Long of Texas is the current RVP, and her term expires in 2011.

  6. Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, and Ohio. Jim Dingman of Illinois is the current RVP, and his term expires in 2010.

  7. Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee. Tom Ward of North Carolina is current RVP, and his term expires in 2011.

  8. Delaware, Maryland...

To continue reading