The Supreme Court of the United States



United States Supreme Court Building

One First Street NE., Washington, DC 20543

Phone, 202-479-3000. Internet,


Chief Justice of the United States William H. Rehnquist

Associate Justices John Paul Stevens, Sandra Day O'Connor, Antonin Scalia, Anthony M. Kennedy, David H. Souter, Clarence Thomas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Stephen G. Breyer


Administrative Assistant to the Sally M. Rider

Chief Justice

Clerk William K. Suter

Court Counsel Scott S. Harris

Curator Catherine E. Fitts

Director of Budget and Personnel Cyril A. Donnelly

Director of Data Systems Donna Clement

Librarian Judith Gaskell

Marshal Pamela Talkin

Public Information Officer Kathleen L. Arberg

Reporter of Decisions Frank D. Wagner


Article III, section 1, of the Constitution of the United States provides that ``he judicial Power of the United States, shall be vested in one supreme Court, and in such inferior Courts as the Congress may from time to time ordain and establish.''

The Supreme Court of the United States was created in accordance with this provision and by authority of the Judiciary Act of September 24,

1789 (1 Stat. 73). It was organized on February 2, 1790. Article III, section 2 of the Constitution defines the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.

The Supreme Court is comprised of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress, which is currently fixed at eight (28 U.S.C. 1). The President nominates the Justices with the advice and consent of the Senate. Article III, section 1, of the Constitution further provides that

``he Judges, both of the supreme and inferior Courts, shall hold their Offices during good Behaviour, and shall, at stated Times, receive for their Services, a Compensation, which shall not be diminished during their Continuance in Office.''

Court officers assist the Court in the performance of its functions. They

include the Administrative Assistant to the Chief Justice, the Clerk, the Reporter of Decisions, the Librarian, the Marshal, the Director of Budget and Personnel, the Court Counsel, the Curator, the Director of Data Systems, and the Public Information Officer.

Appellate Jurisdiction Appellate jurisdiction has been conferred upon the Supreme Court by various statutes under the authority given Congress by the Constitution. The basic statute...

To continue reading