States sue federal government over transgender policy.


The attorneys general of 11 states have filed suit against the Obama administration over its announcement that transgender students are protected by federal gender equality legislation.

Officials in Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Louisiana, Maine, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia and Wisconsin filed the suit in a Texas court in May. (Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant ordered the state to join the State of Texas v. United States lawsuit, but its attorney general has said he will not take part in the litigation.)

The move comes after the U.S. Departments of Education and Justice announced that a federal law intended to prohibit discrimination in education applies to transgender students in public school districts. Schools that fail to accommodate these students risk losing federal funding.

"There is no room in our schools for discrimination of any kind, including discrimination against transgender students on the basis of their...

To continue reading