State Justice Institute



Suite 600, 1650 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Phone, 703-684-6100. Internet,

Board of Directors:

Chairman Robert A. Miller

Vice Chairman Joseph F. Baca

Secretary Sandra A. O'Connor

Executive Committee Member Keith McNamara

Members Terrence B. Adamson, Robert N. Baldwin, Carlos R. Garza, Sophia H. Hall, Tommy Jewell, Arthur McGiverin,



Executive Director Kevin Linskey

Deputy Director Kathy Schwartz


The State Justice Institute awards grants to improve judicial administration in the State courts of the United States.

The State Justice Institute was created by the State Justice Institute Act of 1984 (42 U.S.C. 10701) as a private, nonprofit corporation to further the development and improvement of judicial administration in the State courts.

The Institute is supervised by a Board of Directors consisting of 11 members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. The Board is statutorily composed of six judges, a State court administrator, and four members of the public, of whom no more than two can be of the same political party.

The goals of the Institute are to fulfill the following duties:

--direct a national program of assistance to ensure that all U.S. citizens have ready access to a fair and effective judicial system;

--foster coordination and cooperation with the Federal Judiciary;

--serve as a clearinghouse and information center for the dissemination of information regarding State judicial systems; and

--encourage education for judges and support personnel of State court systems.

To accomplish these broad objectives, the Institute is authorized to provide funds...

To continue reading