State Bar News, 1016 UTBJ, Vol. 29 No. 5. 44

State Bar News

Vol. 29 No. 5 Pg. 44

Utah Bar Journal

October, 2016

September, 2016

Commission Highlights

The Utah State Bar Board of Commissioners received the following reports and took the actions indicated during the July 6, 2016 Commission Meeting held at the Summer Convention in San Diego, California. 1. The Bar Commissioners voted to approve 2016-2017 budget.

2. The Bar Commissioners voted to give $10,000 to Utah Dispute Resolution.

3. The Bar Commissioners voted to elect Angelina Tsu as the Utah State Bar ABA delegate.

4. The Bar Commissioners voted to create an ex officio commission seat for the LGBT and Allied Lawyers of Utah.

5. The Bar Commissioners appointed the following ex officio members for the 2016–2017 year: the Immediate Past Bar President; the Bar’s Representatives to the ABA House of Delegates; the Bar’s YLD Representative to the ABA House of Delegates; Utah’s ABA Members’ Representative to the ABA House of Delegates; the Utah Minority Bar Association Representative; the Women Lawyers of Utah Representative; the LGBT and Allied Lawyers of Utah Representative; the Paralegal Division Representative; the J. Reuben Clark Law School Dean; the S.J. Quinney College of Law Dean; and the Young Lawyers Division Representative.

6. The Bar Commissioners voted to appoint Rob Rice, John Lund, H. Dickson Burton, Heather Farnsworth, and Michelle Mumford as members of the Executive Committee. Angelina Tsu will sit on the Committee as Past President.

7. The Bar Commissioners voted to approve members of the Executive Committee to serve as signatories on the Bar’s checking accounts.

8. The Minutes of the May 13, 2016 Commission Meeting were approved by consent.

9. The Young Lawyers Division bylaws were approved by consent.

The minute text of this and other meetings of the Bar Commission are available at the office of the Executive Director.

2016 Fall Forum Awards

The Board of Bar Commissioners is seeking nominations for the 2016 Fall Forum Awards. These awards have a long history of honoring publicly those whose professionalism, public service and personal dedication have significantly enhanced the administration of justice, the delivery of legal services, and the building up of the profession. Your award nominations must be submitted in writing to Christy Abad, Executive Secretary, 645 South 200 East, Suite 310, Salt Lake City, UT 84111 or by Friday, October 14, 2016. The award categories include: 1. Distinguished Community Member Award

2. Professionalism Award

3. Outstanding Pro Bono Service Award

View a list of past award recipients at: bar-operations/history-of-utah-state-bar-award-recipients/.

Pro Bono Honor Roll

2nd District ORS Calendar

Jake Cowdin

Lauren Schultz

3rd District ORS Calendar

Joshua Cannon

A.J. Green

Kristine M. Larsen

Gregory Osborne

Katherine Priest

Rick Rose

Maria E. Windham

Robert Wing


David Blaisdell

Chase Kimball

Bankruptcy Case

Kenneth McCabe

Todd Tyler

Community Legal Clinic

Skyler Anderson

Jonny Benson

Marlene F. Gonzalez

Todd Jenson

Jacob Kent

Carlos Navarro

Leonor Perretta

Brian Pitt

Francisco Roman

Brian Rothschild

Paul Simmons

Mike Studebaker

Ian Wang

Russell Yauney

Debt Collection Calendar

David P. Billings

Mark Burns

Chris Burt

Brian Rothschild

Zach Shields

Charles A. Stormont

Reed Stringham

Steven Tingey

Spencer Topham

Debtor’s Legal Clinic

Robert Falck

Tyler Needham

Brian Rothschild

Paul Simmons

Tami Gadd Willardson

Ian Wang

Expungement Case

Jeremy Shimada

Expungement Legal Clinic

Kate Conyers

Joshua Egan

Stephanie Miya

Amy Powers

Bill Scarber

Family Law Case

McKette Allred

Justin Bond

Greg Hadley

Adam Hansley

Thomas King

Jenny Lee

Kenneth McCabe

Kayla Quam

Family Law Clinic

Justin T. Ashworth

Brent Chipman

Zal Dez

Lori Nelson

Trent Nelson

Stewart Ralphs

Jeff Richards

Linda F. Smith

Simon So

Sheri Throop

Guardianship Case

Stephanie O’Brien

Jessica Tyler

Guardianship Signature Project

Kathie Brown Roberts

Steven A Christensen

Laura Gray

Elizabeth Lisonbee

Kenneth McCabe

Homeless Youth Legal Clinic

Frank Brunson

Janell Bryan

Kate Conyers

Kent Cottam

Amy Fowler

Skye Lazaro

Nicole Lowe

Andrea Martinez-Griffin

Sharon McCully

Rachel Otto

Laja Thompson

Medical-Legal Clinic

Stephanie Miya

Micah Vorwaller


David Burceau

Jill Coil

Allison Librett

Cassie Medura

Michael Studebaker

Post Conviction Case

Peter Strand

Protective Order Case

Nikki Frampton

Rainbow Law Clinic

Jess Couser

Russell Evans

Stewart Ralphs

Chris Wharton

Senior Center Legal Clinics

Kyle Barrick

Sharon Bertelsen

Kent Collins

Phillip S. Ferguson

Richard Fox

Michael A. Jensen

Jay Kessler

Terrell R. Lee

Joyce Maughan

Stanley D. Neeleman

Kristie Parker

Jane Semmel

Jeannine Timothy

Street Law Clinic

Nathan Bracken

Dara Cohen

Kate Conyers

Brett Coombs

Matt Harrison

Brett Hastings

John Macfarlane

Clayton Preece

Elliot Scruggs

J. Craig Smith

Kristen Sweeney

Jonathan Thorne

Aaron Worthen

Tuesday Night Bar

James Ahlstrom

Jared Allebest

Mike Anderson

Joan Andrews

Ryan Beckstrom

Melinda Hill Birrell

Mike Black

Jon Bletzacker

Niels Bybee

Josh Chandler

Kate Conyers

Rita Cornish

Joshua Figueira

Steve Glauser

Will Harnish

Carlyle Harris

Katie James

Craig Jenson

Mason Kjar

Jordan Lee

Sean Mosman

Benjamin Onofrio

P. Bruce Radger

Jessica Rancie

Leslie Rinaldi

Walt Romney

Ron Russell

LaShel Shaw

Jeremy Stewart

Diana Telfer

Jeff Tuttle

Ben Welch

Rachel Wertheimer

Bruce Wycoff

West Jordan Landlord Tenant Pro Se Calendar

Jared Allebest

Kathryn Bleazard

Crystal Flynn

Steve Gray

Jaelynn Jenkins

Mary Milner

Nate Mitchell

Tyler Needham

Vaughn Pedersen

Richard Rappaport

Kasey Rasmussen

Michelle Robison

Emily Sorensen

Sheri Throop

Axel Trumbo

Kevin Westwood

Chris Wharton

The Utah State Bar and Utah Legal Services wish to thank these volunteers for accepting a pro bono case or helping at a clinic in June and July of 2016. To volunteer call Tyler Needham at (801) 297-7027 or go to to fill out a volunteer survey.

Bar Thank You

Many attorneys volunteered their time to grade essay answers from the July 2016 Bar exam. The Bar greatly appreciates the contribution made by these individuals. A sincere thank you goes to the following:

Matt Adams

Paul Amann

Mark R. Anderson

Gage Arnold

Ken Ashton

Mark Astling

P. Bruce Badger

Justin Baer

J. Ray Barrios

Brent Bartholomew

James Bergstedt

Susan Black Dunn

Mike Boehm

Matt Boley

Sara Bouley

Elizabeth Butler

Sarah Campbell

Jared Casper

Gary Chrystler

Kate Conyers

Victor Copeland

Nicholas Cutler

Daniel Daines

Daniel Dansie

Jonathan Diaz

L. Mark Ferre

J. Tyler Firmage

Stephen Geary

Alisha Giles

Bernadette Gomez

Michele Halstenrud

Erik Hamblin

Gary Heward

Emily Holt

Charlotte Howard-Saguibo

Randy Hunter


To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT