State Bar News, 0222 UTBJ, Vol. 35, No. 1. 52

PositionVol. 35 1 Pg. 52

State Bar News

No. Vol. 35 No. 1 Pg. 52

Utah Bar Journal

February, 2022

January. 2022

2022 Spring Convention Awards Announcement

The Board of Bar Commissioners is seeking applications for two Bar awards to be given at the 2022 Spring Convention. These awards honor publicly those whose professionalism, public service, and public dedication have significantly enhanced the administration of justice, the delivery of legal services, and the improvement of the profession.

Please submit your nomination for a 2022 Spring Convention Award no later than Friday, January 21, 2022. Use the Award Form located at to propose your candidate in the following categories: 1. Dorathy Merrill Brothers Award - For the Advancement of Women in the Legal Profession.

2. Raymond S. Uno Award - For the Advancement of Minorities in the Legal Profession.

We appreciate your thoughtful nominations.

Commission Highlights

The Utah State Bar Board of Commissioners received the following reports and took the actions indicated during the November 18, 2021 Meeting held on Zoom.

1. The Commission approved the financial audit, which was clean.

2. The Commission approved the Outstanding NLTP Mentoring awards for Ann Marie (Annie) Taliaferro and Hon. Brody Keisel.

3. The Commission tabled the vote on the new gate and fence for the south side of the Bar building in lieu of an email vote once there is information about the cost of a lifetime warranty.

4. The Commission approved January 20, 2022, for the next Bar ReView event.

5. The Commission approved endorsing and supporting the Hazelden Betty Ford Lawyer Well-being programming project with an eye toward soliciting financial support from various legal institutions to reach the $50,000 goal.

6. The Commission approved the following consent items: • October 15, 2021 Commission Meeting minutes

• Fund for Client Protection recommended payments.

The minute text of this and other meetings of the Bar Commission are available at the office of the Executive Director.

Notice of Petition for Readmission to the Utah State Bar by Jeremy D. Eveland

Pursuant to Rule 11-591(d), Rules of Discipline, Disability, and Sanctions, the Office of Professional Conduct hereby publishes notice of the Verified Petition for Readmission (Petition) filed by Jeremy D. Eveland, in In the Matter of the Discipline of Jeremy D. Eveland, Third Judicial District Court, Civil No. 150907576. Any individuals wishing to oppose or concur with the Petition are requested to do so within twenty-eight days of the date of this publication by filing notice with the District Court.


This “In Memoriam” listing contains the names of former and current members of the Utah State Bar, as well as paralegals, judges, and other members of the Utah legal community whose deaths occurred over the past year, as reported to the Utah State Bar. To report the recent death of a former or current Bar member, paralegal, or judge please email


Mark DeCaria Richard C. Howe


Henry L. Adams

Wesley C. Argyle

Kirk W. Bennett

Adam C. Bevis

Clella Cindy Lehua Blakely

Louis Henry Callister

Paul N. Cox

Randall Dean Cox

Richard B. Cuatto

Grant McEwan Cutler

Dennis Einar Dahl

Donald L. Dalton

Eugene Halston Davis

Robert J. DeBry

Earl DeVon Deppe

Gordon W. Duval

Michael S. Eldredge

Kevan C. Eyre P. Gary Ferrero

Peter L. Flangas

Max Clive Gardner

Robert Gordon

Ronald Dwayne Hatch

George W. Hellstrom

James C. Hoffman

Stephen G. Homer

Michael Dean Hughes R. Michael Hutchins

Stephen Walter Julien

Larry B. Larsen

James B. Lee

Kay M. Lewis

Joseph Warren Long

Elizabeth E. Rose Loveridge

Paul Lydolph III

Charles L. “Chuck” Maak

Dennis L. Mangrum

Milo S. Marsden

John G. Marshall

Grant S. Maw

John “Jack” S. McAllister

Robert Ladd Moody

Edward P. Moriarity

Monte J. Morris Grant Nagamatsu Alfred J. Newman

Ronald Offret

Stanley Hanks Olsen

Harold Lee “Pete” Petersen

John David Richards III J. Todd Rushton

David E. Salisbury

Dee W. Smith

Stephen Jay Sorenson

Edward “Ned” Spurgeon

Lawrence E. Stevens

John C. Sumner

Keith E. Taylor

Alden B. Tueller

David W. Tundermann

Lance A. Wald

Michael K. Wall

Loren “Larry” E. Weiss

Alan M. Williams

John L. Young


Pauline M. Fontaine

Michele M. Sheppick

Holly J. Turner

Sandra D. Tiller

Notice of Bar Commission Election – Second, Third, and Fifth Divisions

Nominations to the office of Bar Commissioner are hereby solicited for: • one member from the Second Division (Davis, Morgan, and Weber Counties),

• two members from the Third Division (Salt Lake, Summit, and Tooele Counties), and

• one member from the Fifth Division (Beaver, Iron, and Washington Counties) each to serve a three-year term. Terms will begin in July 2022.

To be eligible for the office of Commissioner from a division, the nominee’s business mailing address must be in that division as shown by the records of the Bar. Applicants must be nominated by a written petition of ten or more members of the Bar in good standing whose business mailing addresses are in the division from which the election is to be held. Nominating petitions are available at http://www. Completed petitions must be submitted to Christy Abad, Executive Assistant, no later than February 1, 2022, by 5:00 p.m.

Pro Bono Honor Roll

The Utah State Bar and Utah Legal Services wish to thank these volunteers for accepting a pro bono case or helping at a recent free legal clinic. To volunteer, call the Utah State Bar Access to Justice Department at (801) 297-7049.

Family Justice Center

Rob Allen

Amy Fiene

Sierra Hansen

Michael Harrison

Brandon Merrill

Babata Sonnenberg

Rachel Whipple

Private Guardian ad Litem

Robin Kirkham

Keil Myers

Rebecca Ross

Jeannine Timothy

Amy Williamson

Pro Se Debt Collection Calendar

Greg Anjewerden

Mark Baer

Pamela Beatse

Keenan Carroll

Ted Cundick

Hannah Ector

John Francis

Leslie Francis

Annemarie Garrett

Aro Han

Jarom Harrison

Erin Kitchens Wong


To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT