Rise and Shine.

Position:Book review

*** 1/2 Rise and Shine By Anna Quindlen

Fame is fleeting but family is forever.

When renowned morning talk-show host Meghan Fitzmaurice, flustered by her husband's recent and unexpected departure, snaps out an expletive with her microphone still live on the air, her career and ritzy Manhattan life fall apart. Her sister Bridget, a self-deprecating social worker, must pick up the pieces and take care of her nephew Leo while Meghan flees to Jamaica. Bridget's assets include her snappy assistant, Tequila; her wise and insightful Aunt Maureen; her low-maintenance cop boyfriend, Irving; and the street smarts she's gained from her years in the Bronx, all flavored with the endless, hard-edged richness of post-9/11 New York.

Random House. 288 pages. $24.95. ISBN: 0375502246

Charlotte Observer ****

"[T]he dialogue sparkles, the insights are right on, the plot is uncomplicated, and the characters are appealing. Prospective readers should reserve several afternoons on a breezy screened porch for this pleasure read." ROSANNE O'REAR

Hartford Courant ****

"[Quindlen's novel is] an engrossing exploration of fame, shame, sisterhood, and schadenfreude.... Witnessing how [the protagonists] handle their personal trials and power shifts is the real reward for readers of Rise and Shine." CAROLE GOLDBERG

Washington Post ****

"[Rise and Shine is a] literate and pleasing women's novel.... Anna Quindlen has developed an enormously likable writing voice, and by telling her tale through the humble voice of an unassuming naif, she allows her readers the illusion that we all might live securely within the velvety pink confines of the New York maw, safely out of the way of those silver teeth." CAROLYN SEE

Kansas City Star *** 1/2

"Rise and Shine drags when Bridget visits Meghan during her exile in the Caribbean. And Meghan's husband, Evan, is too much a cipher, even for a spouse overshadowed by his megawatt star wife. And the ending is a bit too tidy. Still, the novel is adroit." JEFFREY ANN GOUDIE

Chicago Sun-Times ***

"There are so many notable aspects to this...

To continue reading

FREE SIGN UP