Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board



1250 H Street NW., Washington, DC 20005

Phone, 202-942-1600. Fax, 202-942-1676. Internet, www.tsp.gov.

Chairman Andrew M. Saul

Members Thomas A. Fink, Scott B. Lukins, Alejandro M. Sanchez, Gordon J. Whiting


Executive Director (vacancy)

General Counsel Elizabeth S. Woodruff

Director of Accounting David L. Black

Director of Administration (vacancy)

Director of Automated Systems Lawrence E. Stiffler

Director of Benefits and Investments James B. Petrick

Director of Communications Veda R. Charrow

Director of External Affairs Thomas J. Trabucco


The Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board administers the Thrift Savings Plan, which provides Federal employees the opportunity to save for additional retirement security.

The Federal Retirement Thrift Investment Board was established as an independent agency by the Federal Employees' Retirement System Act of

1986 (5 U.S.C. 8351 and 8401-79). The act vests responsibility for the agency in six named fiduciaries: the five Board members and the Executive Director. The five members of the Board, one of whom is designated as Chairman, are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate and serve on the Board on a part-time basis. The members appoint the Executive Director, who is responsible for the management of the agency and the Plan.


The Thrift Savings Plan is a tax-deferred, defined contribution plan that was established as one of the...

To continue reading