National Railroad Passenger Corporation (Amtrak)



60 Massachusetts Avenue NE., Washington, DC 20002

Phone, 202-906-3000. Internet,

Board of Directors:

Chairman David Laney

Members Norman Y. Mineta

(Secretary of Transportation)

, Floyd Hall, Enrique Sosa,

(3 vacancies)


President and Chief Executive Officer David L. Gunn

Chief Financial Officer David N. Smith

Vice President, Labor Relations Joseph M. Bress

Senior Vice President, Operations William L. Crosbie

Vice President, Human Resources Lorraine A. Green

Vice President, Business Diversity Gerri Mason Hall

Vice President, Planning and Contract Gilbert O. Mallery


Vice President, Government Affairs and Policy Joseph H. McHugh

Vice President, Marketing and Sales Barbara J. Richardson

Vice President, Procurement and Materials Michael J. Rienzi


General Counsel and Corporate Secretary Alicia M. Serfaty

Inspector General Fred E. Weiderhold


The National Railroad Passenger Corporation was established by Congress to meet the Nation's intercity passenger transportation needs.

The National Railroad Passenger Corporation (Amtrak) was created by the Rail Passenger Service Act of 1970, as amended (49 U.S.C. 241), and was incorporated under the laws of the District of Columbia to provide a balanced national transportation system by developing, operating, and improving U.S. intercity rail passenger service.

Amtrak operates approximately 275 trains per day, serving over 520 stations in 46 States, over a system of nearly 21,800 route miles. Of this route system, Amtrak owns about 525 track miles in the Northeast Corridor, and several other small track segments elsewhere in the country.

Amtrak owns or leases its stations and owns its own repair and maintenance facilities. The Corporation employs a total workforce of approximately 19,600 and provides all reservation, station, and on-board service staffs, as well as...

To continue reading