National Transportation Safety Board



490 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Washington, DC 20594

Phone, 202-314-6000. Fax, 202-314-6110. Internet,

CHAIRMAN Deborah A.P. Hersman

Vice Chairman Christopher A. Hart

Members Robert L. Sumwalt, (2 vacancies)

Managing Director Joseph G. Osterman

Chief Financial Officer Steven Goldberg

Chief Administrative Law Judge William E. Fowler, Jr.

General Counsel Gary Halbert

Deputy General Counsel William Love

Director, Office of Aviation Safety Thomas E. Haueter

Deputy Director, Office of Aviation Safety John DeLisi

Chief, Major Investigations Dana Schulze

Chief Advisor for International Safety Affairs Robert MacIntosh

Deputy Director, Regional Operations Jeff Guzzetti

Director, Office of Government and Industry (vacancy)


Deputy Director, Government Affairs Mildred Starek

Director, Office of Transportation Disaster Sharon Bryson


Assistant Director, Office of Transportation Eric Grosof

Disaster Assistance

Associate Managing Director, Office of Public Ted Lopatkiewicz


Director, Office of Highway Safety Bruce Magladry

Deputy Director, Operations Dwight Foster

Deputy Director, Accident Investigations Barbara Czech

Director, Office of Marine Safety John Spencer

Deputy Director, Office of Marine Safety Michael Rosecrans

Director, Office of Railroad, Pipeline, and Robert J. Chipkevich

Hazardous Materials Investigations

Chief Technical Advisor James Ritter

Chief, Railroad Division James Southworth

Chief, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Division Robert Trainor

Director, Office of Research and Engineering (vacancy)

Deputy Director, Office of Research and Joseph Kolly


Director, Office of Safety Recommendations and Elaine Weinstein


Deputy Director, Operations Danielle Roeber

Director, Training Center Paul Schuda


The National Transportation Safety Board seeks to ensure that all types of transportation in the United States are conducted safely. The Board investigates accidents, conducts studies, and makes recommendations to Government agencies, the transportation industry, and others on safety measures and practices.


The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) was established in 1967 and became totally independent on April 1, 1975, by the Independent Safety Board Act of 1974 (49 U.S.C. 1111).

NTSB consists of five Members appointed for 5-year terms by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. The...

To continue reading