National Transportation Safety Board



490 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Washington, DC 20594

Phone, 202-314-6000. Internet,

Chairman Ellen G. Engleman

Vice Chairman Mark V. Rosenker

Members Carol J. Carmody, John J. Goglia, Richard F. Healing

Executive Director (vacancy)

Managing Director Dan Campbell

Chief Financial Officer Steven Goldberg

Chief Administrative Law Judge William E. Fowler, Jr.

General Counsel Ronald S. Battocchi

Deputy General Counsel David Bass

Director, Office of Aviation Safety John C. Clark

Deputy Director Thomas Haueter

Deputy Director for Major Bob Benzon


Deputy Director for International Robert MacIntosh

Aviation Operations

Deputy Director for Regional Jeff Guzzetti

Technical/Investigative Operations

Director, Office of Government and Industry (vacancy)


Deputy Director for Government Cheryl McCullough


Director, Office of Transportation Disaster Brenda Yager


Deputy Director Sharon Bryson

Director, Office of Public Affairs Ted Lopatkiewicz

Director, Office of Communications Programs (vacancy)

Director, Office of Highway Safety Joseph E. Osterman

Deputy Director Bruce Magladry

Director, Office of Marine Safety Marjorie M. Murtagh

Director, Office of Railroad, Pipeline, and Robert J. Chipkevich

Hazardous Materials Investigations

Associate Director for Railroad Jim Ritter


Associate Director for Hazardous Bob Trainor

Materials Investigations

Associate Director for Pipeline Rod Dyck


Director, Office of Research and Engineering Vernon Ellingstad

Deputy Director Alan S. Kushner

Director, Office of Safety Recommendations and Elaine Weinstein


Deputy Director Jim Rosenberg

Deputy Director for Technology J. Richard Van Woerkom

Director, Office of the Academy Julie Beal

Dean, Office of the Academy Frank Richey


The National Transportation Safety Board seeks to ensure that all types of transportation in the United States are conducted safely. The Board investigates accidents, conducts studies, and makes recommendations to Government agencies, the transportation industry, and others on safety measures and practices.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) was established in 1967 and made totally independent on April 1, 1975, by the Independent Safety Board Act of 1974 (49 U.S.C. 1111).

The Safety Board consists of five members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate for 5-year terms. The President designates two of these...

To continue reading