National Transportation Safety Board



490 L'Enfant Plaza SW., Washington, DC 20594

Phone, 202-314-6000. Internet,

Chairman Mark V. Rosenker Acting

Vice Chairman Mark V. Rosenker

Members Ellen Engelman Conners, Carol J. Carmody, Deborah Hersman, Richard F. Healing

Executive Director Dan Campbell

Managing Director Joseph Osterman

Chief Financial Officer Steven Goldberg

Chief Administrative Law Judge William E. Fowler, Jr.

General Counsel Ronald S. Battocchi

Deputy General Counsel Karen Lanier

Director, Office of Aviation Safety John C. Clark

Deputy Director Thomas Haueter

Chief, Major Investigations Bob Benzon

Chief Advisor for International Robert MacIntosh

Safety Affairs

Deputy Director, Regional Operations Jeff Guzzetti

Director, Office of Government and Industry David Clark


Deputy Director for Government Cheryl McCullough


Director, Office of Transportation Disaster Sharon Bryson


Assistant to the Director Eric Grosof

Director, Office of Public Affairs Ted Lopatkiewicz

Director, Office of Highway Safety Bruce Magladry, Acting

Deputy Director (vacancy)

Director, Office of Marine Safety Marjorie M. Murtagh

Director, Office of Railroad, Pipeline, and Robert J. Chipkevich

Hazardous Materials Investigations

Deputy Director Jim Ritter

Associate Director for Railroad Ron Hynes


Associate Director for Hazardous Bob Trainor

Materials Investigations

Associate Director for Pipeline Rod Dyck


Director, Office of Research and Engineering Vernon Ellingstad

Deputy Director Joseph Kolly

Director, Office of Safety Recommendations and Elaine Weinstein


Deputy Director for Operations Jim Rosenberg

Director, Office of the Academy Julie Beal


The National Transportation Safety Board seeks to ensure that all types of transportation in the United States are conducted safely. The Board investigates accidents, conducts studies, and makes recommendations to Government agencies, the transportation industry, and others on safety measures and practices.

The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) was established in 1967 and became totally independent on April 1, 1975, by the Independent Safety Board Act of 1974 (49 U.S.C. 1111).

NTSB consists of five members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate for 5-year terms. The President designates two of these members as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board for 2-year terms. The designation of the Chairman is made with the advice and consent of the Senate.


To continue reading