Moses, Shelia P. The baptism, a novel.

Author:Hinton, KaaVonia
Position:Young adult review - Brief article - Book review
 
FREE EXCERPT

MOSES, Shelia P. The baptism, a novel. Simon & Schuster, Aladdin. 130p. c2007 1-4169-5833-9. $5.99. J

To quote the review of the hardcover in KLIATT, January 2007: Fans of The Legend of Buddy Bush and The Return of Buddy Bush have a new companion novel set in Occoneechee Neck, North Carolina to enjoy. Those who know the area and its surrounding towns will find Moses's description of the setting and mores authentic, as in the first two novels. Baptism introduces the concerns of 12-year-old Leon, called Twin Leon, his twin brother, called Twin Luke, and his older brother, Joe Nasty. In each chapter, Leon describes his weeklong effort to go to the "mornin' bench" at revival in preparation for baptism. The novel's time span is one week: day after day, Leon's engagement in mischief, his anger towards his stepfather, whom he calls Filthy Frank because he doesn't bathe regularly, and his fights with White Cousin-his grandmother had unacknowledged children by her white master--interfere with his ability to...

To continue reading

FREE SIGN UP