Institute of Museum and Library Services


Institute of Museum and Library Services

1800 M Street NW., 9th Floor, Washington, DC 20036

Phone, 202-653-IMLS (4657). Internet, E-mail,

Director Anne-Imelda M. Radice

Deputy Director for Library Services Mary L. Chute

Deputy Director for Museum Services Marsha Semmel

Chief of Staff Kate Fernstrom

Counselors to the Director Schroeder Cherry, Carol A. Scannelli

Director, Public and Legislative Mamie Bittner


Director, Administration and Teresa M. LaHaie


Director, Research and Rebecca Danvers


Director, Strategic Partnerships Marsha Semmel

Associate Deputy Director for Joyce Ray

Library Services

Associate Deputy Director, State George Smith


Associate Deputy Director for Mary Estelle Kennelly

Museum Services

General Counsel Nancy E. Weiss


The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of Federal support for the Nation's 122,000 libraries and 15,000 museums. Its mission is to grow and sustain a nation of learners. Through its grantmaking, convenings, research, and publications, the Institute empowers museums and libraries nationwide to provide leadership and services to enhance learning in families and communities, sustain cultural heritage, build 21st-century skills, and increase civic participation.

The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) was established within the National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities by the Museum and Library Services Act of September 30, 1996 (110 Stat. 3009-

293), which amended the Museum Services Act (20 U.S.C. 961 et seq.). The Institute combines administration of Federal museum programs formerly carried out by the Institute of Museum Services and Federal library programs formerly carried

out by the Department of Education. The Institute's Director is appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate and is authorized to make grants to museums and libraries. The Director receives policy advice on museum and library programs from the National Museum and Library Services Board, which is comprised of 20 Presidentially appointed members, the Director, the Deputy Director for the Office of Museum Services, and the Deputy Director for the Office of Library Services.

In addition to providing distinct programs of support for museums and libraries, IMLS encourages collaboration between these community resources. The...

To continue reading