Position:Awards - Book review

Salvage the bones

By Jesmyn Ward

In this dark novel, Hurricane Katrina builds over the Gulf of Mexico, threatening a Mississippi town and a poor, motherless family: a widowed, alcoholic father; a 14-year-old pregnant girl; and three brothers, each of whom must protect each other while finding strength, maintaining dignity, and making sacrifices amid impending doom. The story, one of pain, poverty, and resilience, is told over the 12 days leading up to the hurricane.

National Book Awards

Established in 1950, the National Book Award is an American literary prize given to writers by writers and administered by the National Book Foundation.



The Sojourn.

By Andrew Krivak

In this coming-of-age story about brotherhood, survival, love, and war, a family tragedy prompts Jozef Vinich to leave a 19th-century Colorado mining town with his father for a shepherd's life in their Austria-Hungary homeland. World War I, however, soon intervenes.


The Tiger's Wife.

By Tea Obreht

Tea Obreht, the youngest writer to be named in the New Yorker's "20 under 40," was born in the former Yugoslavia. In her debut novel, she follows a young woman who, after receiving news of her grandfather's mysterious death in an isolated, war-ravaged Balkan country, recalls the mesmerizing stories that defined him--tales of his repeated encounters with an immortal man and of the escaped tiger that prowled the hills above his childhood village during the winter of 1941. (**** SELECTION May/June 2011)


To continue reading