Federal Communications Commission



445 Twelfth Street SW., Washington, DC 20554

Phone, 888-225-5322. TTY, 888-835-5322. Internet, www.fcc.gov.

Chairman Kevin Martin

Commissioners Kathleen Abernathy, Jonathan Adelstein, Michael Copps,


Managing Director Andrew S. Fishel

General Counsel Austin C. Schlick, Acting

Inspector General H. Walker Feaster III

Chief, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau Jay Keithley, Acting

Chief, Enforcement Bureau David Solomon

Chief, International Bureau Donald Abelson

Chief, Media Bureau Deborah E. Klein, Acting

Chief, Office of Administrative Law Judges Richard L. Sippel

Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology Ed Thomas

Chief, Office of Strategic Planning and Policy Robert Pepper, Acting


Chief, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau Catherine W. Seidel, Acting

Chief, Wireline Competition Bureau (vacancy)

Director, Office of Communications Business Carolyn Fleming Opportunities Williams

Director, Office of Legislative Affairs Anthony Dale, Acting

Director, Office of Media Relations David Fiske

Director, Office of Workplace Diversity P. June Taylor


The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and foreign communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable. It is responsible for the orderly development and operation of broadcast services and the provision of rapid, efficient nationwide and worldwide telephone and telegraph services at reasonable rates. Its responsibilities also include the use of communications for promoting safety of life and property and for strengthening the national defense.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) was created by the Communications Act of 1934 (47 U.S.C. 151 et seq.) to regulate interstate and foreign communications by wire and radio in the public interest. The scope of FCC regulation includes radio and television broadcasting; telephone, telegraph, and cable television operation; two-

way radio and radio operators; and satellite communication.

The Commission is composed of five members, who are appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. One of the members is designated by the President as Chairman.


Media The Media Bureau develops, recommends, and administers the policy and licensingprograms for the regulation of media, including cable television, multichannel video programming distribution, broadcast television and radio, and satellite services in the United States and its territories. The Bureau's responsibilities include the following:

--conducting rulemaking proceedings concerning the legal, engineering, and economic aspects of electronic media services;

--resolving waiver petitions, declaratory rulings, and adjudications related to electronic media services; and

--processing applications for authorization, assignment, transfer, and renewal of media services, including AM, FM, TV, the cable TV relay service, and related matters.

For further information, contact the Media Bureau. Phone, 202-418-7200 or 888-225-5322.

Wireline Competition Bureau The Wireline Competition Bureau advises and makes recommendations to the Commission, or acts for the Commission under delegated authority, in all matters pertaining to the regulation and licensingof communications common carriersand ancillary operations

(other than matters pertaining exclusively to the regulation and licensing of wireless telecommunications services and facilities). The Bureau carries out the following duties:

--ensures choice, opportunity, and fairness in the development of wireline telecommunications;

--assesses the present and future wireline telecommunications needs of the Nation and promotes the development and widespread availability of wireline telecommunications;

--promotes economically efficient investment in wireline telecommunications infrastructure; and

--reviews and coordinates orders, programs, and actions initiated by other bureaus and offices in matters affecting wireline telecommunications to ensure consistency with overall Commission policy.

For further...

To continue reading