Drought declaration removed for Lowcountry counties.

The South Carolina Drought Response Committee removed its drought declaration for several Lowcountry counties, though the drought status for the rest of the state remained largely unchanged.

The committee met Friday via conference call, according to a news release from the S.C. Department of Natural Resources.

During the past month, as much as 14 inches of rain have fallen on the coastal portions of the state, leading to the removal of the drought declaration in Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Georgetown, Hampton and Jasper counties. All of these counties previously had incipient drought status.

The status for 35 counties remains incipient, while Anderson, Oconee and Pickens have normal drought status.

Incipient is the first level...

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT