Department of the Air Force



1670 Air Force Pentagon, Washington, DC 20330-1670

Phone, 703-697-6061. Internet,


Under Secretary of the Air Force Peter B. Teets

Deputy Under Secretary (International Affairs) Willard H. Mitchell

Principal Assistant Deputy Under Maj. Gen. Tome H. Secretary (International Walters, Jr.


Assistant Deputy Under Secretary Brig. Gen. Jeffrey B.

(International Affairs) Kohler

Director, Small and Disadvantaged Business Anthony J. DeLuca


Assistant Secretary (Manpower, Reserve Affairs, Michael Dominguez

Installations, and Environment)

Executive Director, Air Force Board Mack M. Burton

for Correction of Military Records

Director, Air Force Personnel Col. Kenneth M. Council Parsons

Director, Air Force Civilian Sophie A. Clark

Appellate Review Office

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary Fred W. Kuhn, Acting

(Manpower, Reserve Affairs, Installations, and Environment)

Deputy Assistant Secretary (Force Kelly F. Craven

Management and Personnel)

Deputy Assistant Secretary (Reserve Bryan E. Sharratt


Deputy Assistant Secretary Jimmy G. Dishner


Deputy Assistant Secretary Thomas W.L. McCall,

(Environment, Safety, and Jr.

Occupational Health)

Deputy Assistant Secretary (Equal (vacancy)


Assistant Secretary (Financial Management and Michael Montelongo

Comptroller of the Air Force)

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary Bruce Lemkin

(Financial Management)

Deputy Assistant Secretary (Budget) Maj. Gen. Stephen R. Lorenz

Deputy Assistant Secretary (Cost and Joseph T. Kammerer


Deputy Assistant Secretary A. Ernest Fitzgerald

(Management Systems)

Deputy Assistant Secretary James E. Short

(Financial Operations)

Assistant Secretary (Acquisition) Marvin Sambur

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary Lt. Gen. John Corley


Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary (vacancy)

(Acquisition and Management)

Deputy Assistant Secretary (vacancy)


Deputy Assistant Secretary Blaise J. Durante

(Management Policy and Program Integration)

Deputy Assistant Secretary (Science, Donald Daniel

Technology, and Engineering)

Director, Joint Strike Fighter Maj. Gen. Leslie F. Technology Program Kenne

Assistant Secretary (Space) Keith R. Hall

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary David A. Kier


Deputy Assistant Secretary (Space Richard M. McCormick

Plans and Policy)

General Counsel Jeh C. Johnson

Inspector General of the Air Force Lt. Gen. Raymond P. Huot

Administrative Assistant to the Secretary William A. Davidson

Chief, Civilian Personnel Division Craig Arigo

Chief, Military Personnel Division Maj. Al Bruner

Director, Plans, Programs, and Carolyn Lunsford


Director, Security and Special Gene Boesch

Programs Oversight

Auditor General of the Air Force Jackie R. Crawford

Director, Legislative Liaison Maj. Gen. Michael T. Moseley

Chief, Congressional Inquiry Col. Walter Washabaugh


Director, Public Affairs Col. R.T. Rand

Air Staff

Chief of Staff Gen. John P. Jumper

Vice Chief of Staff Gen. Robert H. Foglesong

Assistant Vice Chief of Staff Lt. Gen. Joseph H. Wehrle, Jr.

Deputy Chief of Staff (Plans and Lt. Gen. Duncan J. Programs) McNabb

Deputy Chief of Staff (Personnel) Lt. Gen. Richard E. Brown IV

Deputy Chief of Staff (Air and Space Lt. Gen. Ronald E. Operations) Keys

Deputy Chief of Staff (Warfighting Lt. Gen. Leslie F. Integration) Kenne

Deputy Chief of Staff (Installations Lt. Gen. Michael E. and Logistics) Zettler

Director of Communications and Lt. Gen. William J. Information Donahue

Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Ch. M. Sgt. Gerald R. Force Murray

Chief, Safety/Director, Air Force Maj. Gen. Francis C. Safety Center Gideon, Jr.

Director of Security Forces Brig. Gen. Richard A. Coleman, Jr.

Chairs, Scientific Advisory Board William F. Ballhaus, Jr., Natalie W. Crawford

Director, Test and Evaluation John Manclark

Air Force Historian (vacancy)

Chief Scientist of the Air Force Alexander H. Levis

Chief, Air Force Reserve Maj. Gen. James E. Sherrard III

Chief, National Guard Bureau Lt. Gen. Russell C. Davis

Surgeon General of the Air Force Lt. Gen. George Peach Taylor, Jr.

Chief of the Chaplain Service Maj. Gen. Lorraine K. Potter

Judge Advocate General Maj. Gen. Thomas J. Fiscus

Named Activities

Commander, Air Force Office of Colonel Matters Col. Paul M. Hankins

Commander, Air Force General Officer Matters Col. Richard S. Hassan


Director, Air Force Office of Senior Executive Gregory W. Den Herder




The Department of the Air Force is responsible for defending the United States through control and exploitation of air and space.

The Department of the Air Force (USAF) was established as part of the National Military Establishment by the National Security Act of 1947 (61 Stat. 502) and came into being on September 18, 1947. The National Security Act Amendments of 1949 redesignated the National Military Establishment as the Department of Defense, established it as an executive department, and made the Department of the Air Force a military department within the Department of Defense (63 Stat. 578). The Department of the Air Force is separately organized under the Secretary of the Air Force. It operates...

To continue reading