Department of Energy



1000 Independence Avenue SW., Washington, DC 20585

Phone, 202-586-5000. Internet,


Deputy Secretary Kyle E. McSlarrow

Under Secretary for Energy, Science, Robert G. Card

and Environment

Assistant Secretary, Fossil Carl Michael Smith


Assistant Secretary, Energy David K. Garman

Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Director of Nuclear Energy, William D. Magwood IV

Science, and Technology

Administrator, Energy Guy F. Caruso

Information Administration

Director of Science Raymond L. Orbach

Assistant Secretary, Jessie H. Roberson

Environmental Management

Director of Civilian Radioactive Margaret Chu

Waste Management

Under Secretary for Nuclear Security Linton F. Brooks

and Administrator for National Nuclear Security Administration

Deputy Administrator for Defense Everet H. Beckner


Deputy Administrator for Defense Kenneth E. Baker, Nuclear Nonproliferation Acting

Deputy Administrator for Naval Adm. Frank L. Bowman, Reactors USN

Office of Management, Budget and James T. Campbell, Evaluation/Chief Financial Acting


Chief Information Officer Karen S. Evans

Director, Office of Security Joseph S. Mahaley

General Counsel Lee Sarah Liberman Otis

Inspector General Gregory H. Friedman

Assistant Secretary, Congressional (vacancy)

and Intergovernmental Affairs

Assistant Secretary, Environment, Beverly A. Cook

Safety, and Health

Assistant Secretary, Policy and Vickey A. Bailey

International Affairs

Director, Independent Oversight and Glenn S. Podonsky

Performance Assurance

Director, Public Affairs Jeanne T. Lopatto

Director of Counterintelligence Stephen W. Dillard

Director of Economic Impact and Theresa Alvillar Diversity Speake

Director of Hearings and Appeals George B. Breznay

Director of Intelligence Thomas S. Ryder, Acting

Director, Worker and Community Michael W. Owen


Executive Director, Secretary of Craig R. Reed

Energy Advisory Board

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Mark B. Whittaker

Board Liaison


888 First Street NE., Washington, DC 20426

Phone, 202-502-8055. Internet,

Chairman Patrick Wood III


The Department of Energy's mission is to foster a secure and reliable energy system that is environmentally and economically sustainable; to be a responsible steward of the Nation's nuclear weapons; to clean up the Department's facilities; to lead in the physical sciences and advance the biological, environmental, and computational sciences; and to provide premier scientific instruments for the Nation's research enterprise.

The Department of Energy (DOE) was established by the Department of Energy Organization Act (42 U.S.C. 7131), effective October 1, 1977, pursuant to Executive Order 12009 of September 13, 1977. The act consolidated the major Federal energy functions into one Cabinet-level Department.

Secretary The Secretary decides major energy policy and planning issues; acts as the principal spokesperson for the Department; and ensures the effective communication and working relationships with Federal, State, local, and tribal governments and the public. The Secretary is the principal adviser to the President on energy policies, plans, and programs.

Counterintelligence The Office of Counterintelligence develops and implements an effective counterintelligence program to identify, neutralize, and deter foreign government or industrial intelligence activities directed at or involving Department programs, personnel, facilities, technologies, classified information, and sensitive information. The Office formulates all DOE counterintelligence policy and coordinates all investigative matters with the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

For further information, contact the Office of Counterintelligence. Phone, 202-586-5901.

Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Liaison The Office of the Departmental Representative to the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) manages the Department's interaction with DNFSB as mandated by law, including achievement of the mutual goal of ensuring protection of public and employee health and safety and the environment by appropriate and timely resolution of DNFSB recommendations and concerns.

For further information, contact the Departmental Representative to the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board. Phone, 202-586-3887.

Intelligence The Office of Intelligence ensures that departmental intelligence information requirements are met and that the Department's technical, analytical, and research expertise is made available to support U.S. intelligence efforts. The Office ensures effective use of the U.S. Government's intelligence apparatus in support of the Department of Energy's needs for information on foreign energy situations and hostile threats, information on global nuclear weapons development, nonproliferation, and foreign hydrocarbon, nuclear, and other energy production and consumption.

For further information, contact the Office of Intelligence. Phone, 202-


Security The Office of Security develops strategies and policies governing the protection of national security and other critical assets


entrusted to the Department of Energy. It also manages security operations for DOE facilities in the national capital area.

For more information, contact the Director of Resource Management. Phone


Energy Programs

Energy Efficiency and...

To continue reading