Council of Economic Advisers


Council of Economic Advisers

1800 G Street NW., Washington, DC 20502

Phone, 202-395-5084. Internet,

Chairman Harvey S. Rosen

Members Kristin J. Forbes,


Chief of Staff Gary D. Blank


The Council of Economic Advisers primarily performs an analysis and appraisal of the national economy for the purpose of providing policy recommendations to the President.

The Council of Economic Advisers (CEA) was established in the Executive Office of the President by the Employment Act of 1946 (15 U.S.C. 1023). It now functions under that statute and Reorganization Plan No. 9 of

1953 (5 U.S.C. app.), effective August 1, 1953.

The Council consists of three members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate. One of the members is designated by the President as Chairman.

The Council analyzes the national economy and its various segments;

advises the President on economic developments; appraises the...

To continue reading