Consumer Product Safety Commission



East-West Towers, 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814

Phone, 301-504-7908. Internet,

Chairman Hal Stratton

Commissioners Mary Sheila Gall, Thomas H. Moore,

General Counsel William H. DuRoss

Director, Office of Congressional Relations John Horner

Director, Office of the Secretary Todd A. Stevenson

Freedom of Information Officer Sandra K. Bradshaw

Director, Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Kathleen V. Buttrey

and Minority Enterprise

Executive Director Patricia M. Semple

Deputy Executive Director Thomas W. Murr, Jr.

Inspector General Christopher w. Dentel, Acting

Director, Office of Human Resources Management Donna M. Simpson, Acting

Assistant Executive Director, Office of Patrick D. Weddle

Information Services

Director, Office of Planning and Evaluation N.J. Scheers

Director, Office of Information and Public Bruce Richardson


Director, Office of the Budget Edward E. Quist

Associate Executive Director for Administration Robert J. Frost

Assistant Executive Director for Compliance Alan H. Schoem

Director, Legal Division Eric Stone

Director, Recalls and Compliance Marc J. Schoem

Associate Executive Director for Field Carol J. Cave


Assistant Executive Director for Hazard Jacqueline Elder

Identification and Reduction

Associate Executive Director for Warren J. Prunella


Associate Executive Director for Hugh M. McLaurin

Engineering Sciences

Associate Executive Director for Susan Ahmed


Associate Executive Director for Mary Ann Danello

Health Sciences

Associate Executive Director for Andrew G. Stadnik

Laboratory Sciences


The Consumer Product Safety Commission protects the public against unreasonable risks of injury from consumer products; assists consumers in evaluating the comparative safety of consumer products; develops uniform safety standards for consumer products and minimizes conflicting State and local regulations; and promotes research and investigation into the causes and prevention of product-related deaths, illnesses, and injuries.

The Consumer Product Safety Commission is an independent Federal regulatory agency established by the Consumer Product Safety Act (15 U.S.C. 2051 et seq.). The Commission consists of five Commissioners, appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate, one of whom is appointed Chairman.

The Commission is responsible for...

To continue reading