Consumer Product Safety Commission



4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814

Phone, 301-504-7908. Internet,

Chairman Hal Stratton

Commissioners Thomas H. Moore, Nancy Nord

General Counsel Page C. Faulk

Director, Office of Congressional Relations John Horner

Director, Office of the Secretary Todd A. Stevenson

Freedom of Information Officer Sandra K. Bradshaw

Director, Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Kathleen V. Buttrey

and Minority Enterprise

Executive Director Patricia M. Semple

Deputy Executive Director Lowell Martin

Inspector General Christopher W. Dentel

Director, Office of Human Resources Management Donna M. Simpson

Director, Office of International Programs and Joseph Mohorovic

Intergovernmental Affairs

Assistant Executive Director, Office of Patrick D. Weddle

Information and Technology Services

Director, Office of Information and Public Julie Vallese


Director, Office of Financial Management, Edward E. Quist

Planning and Evaluation

Assistant Executive Director for Compliance and John Gibson Mullan

Field Operations

Deputy Assistant Executive Director, Marc J. Schoem

Office of Compliance

Assistant Executive Director for Hazard Jacqueline Elder

Identification and Reduction

Associate Executive Director for Gregory B. Rodgers


Associate Executive Director for Hugh M. McLaurin

Engineering Sciences

Associate Executive Director for Russell H. Roegner


Associate Executive Director for Mary Ann Danello

Health Sciences

Associate Executive Director for Andrew G. Stadnik

Laboratory Sciences


The Consumer Product Safety Commission protects the public against unreasonable risks of injury from consumer products; assists consumers in evaluating the comparative safety of consumer products; develops uniform safety standards for consumer products and minimizes conflicting State and local regulations; and promotes research and investigation into the causes and prevention of product-related deaths, illnesses, and injuries.

The Consumer Product Safety Commission is an independent Federal regulatory agency established by the Consumer Product Safety Act (15 U.S.C. 2051 et seq.). The Commission consists of five Commissioners, appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate, one of whom is appointed Chairman.

The Commission is responsible for implementing provisions of the Flammable Fabrics Act (15 U.S.C. 1191)...

To continue reading