California Bar Journal
CBJ - December 2012 #04.
Dues bills mailed Nov. 30
The California LawyerDecember 2012Dues bills mailed Nov. 30The bills for the 2013 State Bar dues were mailed to members Nov. 30; the deadline for payment is Feb. 1. The Legislature authorized a $410 fee for active lawyers. The fee includes $40 for the Client Security Fund, $25 for disciplinary activities, $10 for the Lawyer Assistance Program, $10 for a building fund and $10 for technology upgrades; the remainder goes to the general fund.
Inactive members will owe $125, an amount that includes $10 for both the Client Security Fund and the building fund, $25 for discipline and $5 for the LAP as well as general fund money. Annual membership fees are waived for inactive lawyers who are 70 years of age on Feb. 1.
Those lawyers whose last names start with A-to-G (Group 1) also have a Feb. 1 due date to report completion of their 25 hours of Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE).
Failure to pay dues by the deadline will trigger a $100 late payment penalty for active lawyers and a $30 penalty for inactive attorneys.
Lawyers also will have the opportunity to donate to the Justice Gap Fund (recommended donation $100), the California Bar Foundation ($50...