Awards and accolades: professionals helping advance internal auditing honored at IIA International Conference.

Position:Institute of Internal Auditors - Awards list

Passion and enthusiasm for internal auditing have help advance the profession through the years. Indeed, those who push the boundaries for innovation within the profession are what make it great. During The IIA's 73rd International Conference in London, we recognized a number of these individuals for their contributions to the advancement and evolution of internal auditing.

Roderick M. Winters, CIA, CRMA, CPA, accepted the Victor Z. Brink Award for Distinguished Service for contributions to the profession through global service to The IIA. Winters, past chairman of The IIA Global Board of Directors, has more than 30 years of professional experience, including serving as general auditor for Microsoft Corporation and working 11 years for Deloitte & Touche. He has been an active member of The IIA since 1994, and he currently serves as chair of the International Conference Committee.

Andrew D. Chambers, Ph.D., CEng, FCCA, FCA, FIIA, FBCS, CITP, FRSA, received the Bradford Cadmus Memorial Award for contributions to the global profession of internal auditing. Chambers is recognized worldwide as an authority on corporate governance, having served on numerous boards, panels, and committees. He was founder and general editor of Blackwell's International Journal of Auditing, a peer-reviewed research journal, and wrote Chambers' Corporate Governance Handbook, now in its fifth edition, as well as nearly 20 additional books on audit-related topics.

Certification Awards

Alessandro Segalini, CIA, IIA--Italy, won the 2014 William S. Smith Gold Medal Award, given to the individual achieving the highest score on the CIA examination.

Alberto Aimola, CIA, IIA--Italy, won the 2014 Hans J. Spoel Silver Medal Award, given for achieving the second highest score on the CIA examination.

Mark de Jong, CIA, IIA-Netherlands, won the 2014 Kurt Riedener Bronze Medal Award, given for achieving the third highest score on the CIA examination.

Laust Helmig, CIA, IIA-NewYork, won the 2014 Glenn E. Sumners Student Highest Achievement

Award, given to the student achieving the highest score on the CIA examination.

Annalena Baer, CIA, CCSA, CRMA, IIA-Norway, won the CCSA Highest Achievement Award.

Emily Durbin, CGAP, IIA--Springfield (IL) Chapter, won the CGAP Highest Achievement Award.

Ryan Gibbs, CFSA, IIA--New York Chapter, won the CFSA Highest Achievement Award.

Min Li Chan, CRMA, IIA-Singapore, won the CRMA Highest Achievement Award.

Internal Auditor Literary Excellence...

To continue reading