Date01 June 2018
Published date01 June 2018
Subject MatterInformation for Readers
Political Research Quarterly
2018, Vol. 71(2) 496 –497
© 2018 University of Utah
Reprints and permissions:
DOI: 10.1177/1065912918767662
Information for Readers
Western Political Science
Association (WPSA)
WPSA Heads to San Diego for 2019 Meeting
The 2019 meeting of the WPSA will be held at the
Manchester Hyatt in San Diego, California, from April 18
to 20. Jamie Mayerfeld, University of Washington, is
serving as Program Chair for this meeting. The University
of San Diego (USD) has once again offered to serve as
the local hosts. Emily Edmonds-Poli and Tim McCarty,
both professors in the USD Department of Political
Science and International Relations, are serving as the
Local Arrangements Cochairs.
Proposals for the 2019 meeting are encouraged. The
DEADLINE for submission of paper proposals/program
participation forms is September 21, 2018. The theme for
the 2019 meeting is: “The Politics of Climate Change.”
Although proposals are welcome on all topics in political
science, the Program Chair is encouraging proposals
which enhance our understanding of the politics of cli-
mate change. Scholars in all subfields of the discipline
are welcome to submit proposals on subjects related to
this theme. Details about the conference, its theme, the
Call for Papers, and proposal instructions appear on the
WPSA website:
The WPSA annual meeting not only offers the oppor-
tunity for traditional research presentations and roundta-
ble discussions but also a place for interested groups to
schedule special events and workshops. In addition, if
you are part of a research community that is interested in
holding a meeting in the spring, we may be able to accom-
modate your group by coordinating a conference within
the WPSA annual meeting. For information about these
opportunities, please contact Richard Clucas, WPSA
Executive Director, at
The 2019 conference was originally scheduled to be
held in San Antonio, Texas. In June 2017, however,
California Attorney General Xavier Becerra placed a ban
on state-funded travel to Texas because of the state’s dis-
criminatory LGBT laws. The WPSA Executive Council
subsequently voted to respond to the ban and to Texas’s
discriminatory policies by relocating the conference to
California. The Association canceled its 2019 contract
with the Hyatt Regency San Antonio and signed a new
contract with the Manchester Hyatt in San Diego.
Recipients of 2018 WPSA Awards
The following WPSA awards were presented by the
Association at the 2018 Annual Meeting held in San
Francisco, California.
The Don T. Nakanishi Award for Distinguished
Scholarship and Service in Asian Pacific American
Politics went to Diane Wong, Cornell University, for her
paper, “The Politics of Staying Put: (Re)generation Not
Gentrification of New York City’s Chinatown.”
Originally called the WPSA Best Paper Award on Asian
Pacific Americans and Politics, the award was renamed
and its scope expanded in 2016 to honor Don Nakanishi,
the esteemed scholar of Asian and Pacific American
The Betty Moulds Lifetime Service Award went to
Timothy Kaufman-Osborn, Baker Ferguson Professor of
Politics and Leadership, Whitman College.
The Betty Nesvold Award for the best paper on Women
and Politics was given to Edana Beauvais, McGill
University, for her paper, “Discursive Inequity and the
Internal Exclusion of Women Speakers.”
The award for the best paper on Blacks and Politics was
awarded to Jennifer Garcia, Oberlin College, and
Christopher Stout, Oregon State University, for their paper,
“Racism and Policymaking: How Racial Resentment
Shapes Legislative Behavior in the U.S. Congress.”
The Charles Redd Award for the best paper on the
politics of the American West was given to Daniel
Tichenor, University of Oregon, and Robin Jacobson,
University of Puget Sound, for their paper, “The Uneven
Welcome: Diversity, Power, and Identity in the U.S.
The first recipient of the Clay Morgan Award for the
best book in Environmental Political Theory was John
Meyer, Humboldt State University, for his book,
Engaging the Everyday: Environmental Social Criticism
and the Resonance Dilemma (MIT Press, 2015). The
award was named in honor of Clay Morgan, a longtime
acquisitions editor who played a leading role in develop-
ing the field before retiring in 2014.
The Best Dissertation Award was given to Nazita
Lajevardi, Michigan State University, for her dissertation
completed at the University of California, San Diego: “A
Comprehensive Study of Muslim American Discrimination
by Legislators, the Media, and the Masses.”
767662PRQXXX10.1177/1065912918767662Political Research QuarterlyAnnouncements

To continue reading

Request your trial

VLEX uses login cookies to provide you with a better browsing experience. If you click on 'Accept' or continue browsing this site we consider that you accept our cookie policy. ACCEPT