Air Force Historical Foundation Award ceremonies October 8, 2014 at the Air Force Memorial & The Sheraton, Pentagon City, Arlington, VA.


The Air Force Historical Foundation will present its highest awards, the Doolittle, Spaatz, and Holley Awards, on Wednesday, October 8th, in ceremonies at the Air Force Memorial and The Sheraton Pentagon City, Arlington, VA.

The James H. "Jimmy" Doolittle Award--recognizing a U.S. Air Force unit's significant contributions to air power history--will be presented at the Air Force Memorial at 4:00 PM to the 19th Airlift Wing, Little Rock AFB, Arkansas. The 19th's roots extend back before World War II, when it was one of the original 15 groups that made up U.S. Army aviation. Despite suffering heavy losses following the attack on Pearl Harbor, the 19th launched the first offensive attack against Japan in World War II. The unit's reputation grew greatly through sustained superior performance in the Korean and Vietnam wars, and all subsequent conflicts. The 19th truly lives up to its motto "In Alis Vincimus-On Wings We Conquer."

The remaining awards will be presented at the Air Force Historical Foundation Awards Banquet, at the Sheraton Pentagon City in Arlington. The General Carl A. "Tooey" Spaatz Award--recognizing an individual for his or her lifetime of contribution to the making of United State Air Force history--will be presented to General Lloyd W. Newton, USAF (Ret.). General Newton's...

To continue reading