Aftermath; Explorations of Loss & Grief.

Author:Smith, Tia
Position:Book review

Sarah Lopez (editor), Lantz Arroyo (editor), and Nicholas Hurd (editor); AFTERMATH; Radix Media (Fiction: Short Stories) 18.95 ISBN: 9780999713709

Byline: Tia Smith

Radix Media's Aftermath unites vastly different voices across cultures and experiences through their captivating and bittersweet expressions of pain.

Crafted from fiction, nonfiction, poetry, graphic narratives, visual art, and photography, the collection explores grief at an emotional and logical level, showcasing the way that pain can both break and rebuild its victims.

Individual stories touch upon experiences and hardships that often fail to receive mainstream recognition. From a fictional tale of an immigrant Iraqi family in "Baking Day" to "Now Live Through This," a graphic narrative about a woman overcoming domestic abuse, the collection offers a poignant, intimate view of pain from the margins of society.

The writing styles of each piece are vastly different, featuring first-, second-, and third-person narration and varying from lofty descriptions to direct, conversational prose. What unites each piece is the expressive evaluation of mourning, be it of a loved one, memories, or even freedom.

Many of the tales focus on tangible losses, but others explore more abstract concepts like...

To continue reading