Advisory Committees

Federal Judicial Center Annual Report 2012 15
Advisory committees provide guidance on education programs and publications. The Chief Justice appoints the mem-
bers of the advisory committees on appellate, bankruptcy, district, and magistrate judge education and the Benchbook
committee, and Center Board members serve on each of these committees. The committees, which typically meet by
telephone conference or during other Center programs, had the following membership at the close of 2012.
Committee on Court Attorney Education
Delores Simmons, Career Law Clerk, District Judge (D.D.C.), Chair
Melissa Benoit, Career Law Clerk, Appellate Judge (5th Cir.)
Jason Brener, Senior Staff Attorney (11th Cir.)
Jill Novak Dalrymple, Career Law Clerk, Bankruptcy Judge (N.D.N.Y.)
Sally R. Doerner, Pro Se Law Clerk, District Judge (E.D. Va.)
Eileen Garcia-Wirshing, Career Law Clerk, Chief District Judge
Corrie Long, Career Law Clerk, Magistrate Judge (M.D. Ala.)
Lauren Mandel, Career Law Clerk, District Judge (E.D. Mich.)
Deborah E. Moore, Career Law Clerk, District Judge (N.D.N.Y.)
D. Robert Smith, Death Penalty Law Clerk (N.D. Tex.)
Gloria J. Malkin (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Defender Services Advisory Group Panel on Defender
Jon M. Sands (Federal Public Defender, D. Ariz.), Chair
David Beneman (Federal Public Defender, D. Me.)
Thomas W. Hillier II (Federal Public Defender, W.D. Wash.)
Henry A. Martin (Federal Public Defender, M.D. Tenn.)
Marjorie A. Meyers (Federal Public Defender, S.D. Tex.)
Committee on Appellate Court Staff Education
Betsy Paret (Circuit Executive, D.C. Cir.), Chair
Douglas Cressler (Chief Deputy Clerk, 10th Cir.)
Molly Dwyer (Clerk of Court, 9th Cir.)
Elaine Fenton (Circuit Librarian, 11th Cir.)
Kim P. Jones (Senior Staff Attorney, 8th Cir.)
Mary Sharon (Bankruptcy App. Panel Clerk, 1st Cir.)
Catherine O’Hagan Wolfe (Clerk of Court, 2d Cir.)
Mark Zanchelli (Chief Deputy Clerk, 4th Cir.)
Gary A. Bowden (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Committee on Bankruptcy Court Staff Education
George Prentice (Clerk of Court, Bankr. W.D. Tex.), Chair
Linda M. Ball (Chief Deputy Clerk, Bankr. M.D.N.C.)
David D. Bird (Clerk of Court, Bankr. D. Del.)
Barry Lander (Clerk of Court, Bankr. S.D. Cal.)
Daniel M. LaVille (Clerk of Court, Bankr. W.D. Mich.)
Margie Lynch (Bankruptcy Administrator, Bankr. E.D.N.C.)
Andrea D. Redmon (Chief Deputy Clerk, Bankr. N.D. Okla.)
Becky Vail (Chief Deputy Clerk, Bankr. S.D. Ind.)
Diane Zech (Clerk of Court, Bankr. D. Neb.)
Mary Louise Mitterhoff (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Committee on Appellate Judge Education
Judge R. Guy Cole, Jr. (6th Cir.), Chair
Judge Sandra Segal Ikuta (9th Cir.)
Judge Michael J. Melloy (8th Cir.), Center Board Representative
Judge Edward C. Prado (5th Cir.), Center Board Representative
Judge Thomas I. Vanaskie (3d Cir.)
Michele E. Reed (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Committee on Bankruptcy Judge Education
Chief Bankruptcy Judge C. Ray Mullins (N.D. Ga.), Chair
Bankruptcy Judge Dennis R. Dow (W.D. Mo.)
Chief Bankruptcy Judge James B. Haines, Jr. (D. Me.), Center Board
Chief Bankruptcy Judge Barbara J. Houser (N.D. Tex.)
Bankruptcy Judge Erithe A. Smith (C.D. Cal.)
Bankruptcy Judge Eugene R. Wedoff (N.D. Ill.)
Dean Lawrence Ponoroff (University of Arizona College of Law)
Amanda L. Anderson (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Committee on District Judge Education
Judge Paul J. Barbadoro (D.N.H.), Chair
Judge Helen Ginger Berrigan (E.D. La.)
Judge Catherine C. Blake (D. Md.), Center Board Representative
Judge Curtis Lynn Collier (E.D. Tenn.)
Judge Carol E. Jackson (E.D. Mo.)
Judge Marcia S. Krieger (D. Colo.)
Chief Judge Kathryn H. Vratil (D. Kan.), Center Board Representative
Michele E. Reed (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Committee on Magistrate Judge Education
Magistrate Judge Tim A. Baker (S.D. Ind.), Chair
Magistrate Judge John M. Facciola (D.D.C.), Center Board
Magistrate Judge Margaret J. Kravchuk (D. Me.)
Magistrate Judge Lisa P. Lenihan (W.D. Pa.)
Magistrate Judge Robert M. Levy (E.D.N.Y.)
Magistrate Judge Thomas C. Mummert III (E.D. Mo.)
Thomas C. Hnatowski (Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts)
Committee on the Benchbook for U.S. District Court
Chief Judge Irma E. Gonzalez (S.D. Cal.), Chair
Judge Robert Holmes Bell (W.D. Mich.)
Judge Paul L. Friedman (D.D.C.)
Chief Judge James F. Holderman (N.D. Ill.), Center Board
Judge John W. Lungstrum (D. Kan.)
Judge Patti B. Saris (D. Mass. and U.S. Sentencing Commission)

To continue reading