2017 GFOA Scholarships awarded.

Position:News & Numbers - Government Finance Officers Association - Awards list

GFOAs Scholarship Committee met recently to award the 2017 scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students preparing for careers in state and local government. Congratulations to all the recipients.

The recipient of the $14,000 Goldberg-Miller Public Finance Scholarship is Megan N. Erwin, who will graduate in May 2017 with a Master of Public Affairs degree, with concentrations in Public Finance Administration and Policy Analysis, from Indiana University, School of Public and Environmental Affairs. The scholarship is funded by the Girard Miller Foundation.

The recipients of the two awards for the Frank L. Greathouse Government Accounting Scholarship are Hannah F. Chu and Magali Moralez. Each recipient will receive a $9,000 award. The scholarship is funded by the Government Finance Officers Association.

* Hannah F. Chu will graduate in May 2018 with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and a concentration in Accounting from California State University.

* Magali Moralez will graduate in August 2017 with a Bachelor of Business Administration/Master of Professional Accounting degree from West Texas A&M University.

The recipient of the $9,000 Minorities in Government Finance Scholarship is Dora Ama Okai, who will graduate in the spring of 2018 with an Executive Master of Business Administration degree from the University of San Francisco. The scholarship is funded by Tyler Technologies.

The recipients...

To continue reading